2015 Richmonder of the Year: Previous Recipients 


With its 2015 recipient, Style commemorates the 30th anniversary of the Richmonder of the Year. Starting in 1985, a committee of community leaders joined the publisher and editor in choosing the recipient. The editorial team brought the selection process in-house in 2003, making the choice after considering the area’s newsmakers, significant moments and turning points of the year.

30th Anniversary Richmonders of the Year: The Ukrop Family (2015)

The City’s Food and Drink Pioneers (2014)
For taking risks, renewing neighborhoods and helping define local culture.

Dwight C. Jones (2013)
Becoming the risk-taking mayor he warned us about.

Women’s Rights Activists (2012)
The people who re-energized the women’s rights movement.

Shaka Smart (2011)
Virginia Commonwealth University men’s basketball coach.

The Richmond Flying Squirrels (2010)
The outsiders who brought them here, and the team that brought us together.

The Galleries and Businesses of First Fridays Art Walk (2009)
Broad Street revivalists.

“Harry Potter” (2008)
The VCU whistle-blower.

Rodney D. Monroe (2007)
Richmond police chief.

The Harvey Family (2006)*
Bryan, Kathryn, Stella and Ruby.

L. Douglas Wilder (2005)
The mayor of Richmond.

Jennie Knapp Dotts (2004)

The Young Black Male (2003)
Searching for hope.

John W. Bates III (2002)
Real-estate lawyer, downtown deal-maker.

Gilbert M. Rosenthal (2001)

James W. Dunn (2000)
Executive director, Greater Richmond Chamber of Commerce.

Jerry A. Oliver (1999)
Richmond police chief.

Eugene P. Trani (1998)
President, VCU.

Harold M. Marsh Sr. (1997)*
Lawyer and substitute judge.

Paul DiPasquale and Tom Chewning (1996)
Artist, fundraiser, Arthur Ashe monument.

MCV Hospitals (1995)

James and Robert Ukrop (1994)
Grocery magnates and community leaders.

Nina Abady (1993)*
Director, Downtown Presents.

Arthur Ashe (1992)
Humanitarian and tennis great.

Marty Tapscott (1991)
New chief of police.

Mary Tyler Cheek McClenahan (1990)
Civic leader.

L. Douglas Wilder (1989)
Former governor and lieutenant governor.

Barbara Grey (1988)
Fox School principal.

Richmond Bureau of Police (1987)

Judge Robert R. Merhige Jr. (1986)
U.S. District judge.

L. Douglas Wilder (1985)
Future lieutenant governor and governor.

* awarded posthumously


Latest in News and Features


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Connect with Style Weekly

Copyright © 2021 Style Weekly
Richmond's alternative for news, arts, culture and opinion
All rights reserved
Powered by Foundation