Track 9 - Horsehead 

"Night on the Town"

click to enlarge horsehead.jpg

Taken from the 2010 full-length, "Before the Bright Lights," this up-tempo number kicks off side two and captures the solid, working-band rock groove these country-influenced locals have mastered. You'll get whiffs of streamlined Tom Petty pop and Springsteen-like lyrics, and the band stays locked into the kind of tight groove that only comes from years of playing bars together. The next thing coming up for the band is a split 7-inch release with Long Arms, mastered by Brian Lucy (who mastered the Black Keys' "Brothers" album). There will be a release party at the Camel on July 16. Horsehead's next full-length record is tentatively scheduled for summer 2012.

09 Night on the Town by Horsehead


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

  • Re: Body Language

    • I want ear cropping..elvin! Can you do this?

    • on August 5, 2016
  • Re: Four Virginia Summer Brews Worth Trying

    • Starr Hill is trying something new by making drinkable beer? It's been a while for…

    • on August 1, 2016
  • More »
  • Latest in 2011 Music Issue

    More by Brent Baldwin

    Copyright © 2016 Style Weekly
    Richmond's alternative for news, arts, culture and opinion
    All rights reserved
    Powered by Foundation